(Affiliated to All India Chess Federation and Recognized by SAK, & Dept. of Youth Services & Sports, Govt of Karnataka)

26, Kanteerava Stadium, Kasturba Road, Bangalore – 560 001. Ph: 98451 28650

Email: ukcachess@gmail.com Web: www.karnatakachess.com

President: Gururaj.M.S General Secretary: Aravind Shastry VicePresident: Raghavendra V

DATE 20-12-2015

Karnataka School of Chess conducted the all India Rapid rating Chess Tournament -2015 at Asia Pacific World School, Koramangala 1st Block, Jakkasandra, Bengaluru under the auspices of UKCA and AICF on 19th and 20th of December 2015. Total 309 participants from across the country took part in this event. 152 rated players took part in this event including 5 International Masters and 2 FIDE Masters .Top seed was IM Shyaam Nikhil P of TN with an elo of 2468. 49 participants were female. Players from 8 states (Karnataka, Kerala, AP, TN, DEL, MAH, WB and UP) played in this event.

Third Seed Kunal M (2309) of TN emerged the champion. He won 7 matches with ease and drew two matches to remain undefeated in the tournament. There was a three way tie for the first place among Kunal M, IM Thej Kumar M S (2459) of KAR and FM Vinoth Kumar (2125) of TN, Kunal M with a better tie break clinched the title.

The event was inaugurated by Dr. Muralidhar and Mr. Stanley Anthony, Principal of Asia pacific World School was the chief guest for the Closing ceremony. KSC organized a live interaction session with the two IM's Shyaam Nikhil P and Thej Kumar M S, who answered the queries of players and audience.

Some important results of round 9 are as follows

Bo.		Name	IRtg	Туре	Pts	Res.	Pts		Name	IRtg	Туре
1		Hemant Sharma (del)	2291		7½	Drew	8		Kunal M.	2309	
2	IM	Thejkumar M. S.	2459		8	Beat	7	IM	Shyaamnikhil P	2468	
3	FM	Vinoth Kumar M.	2125		8	Beat	6½		Vijayendra Y G	2134	
4	IM	Shivananda B.S.	2292		7	Drew	7		Raghavendra V.	1961	
5	FM	Dutta Joydeep	2271		7½	Beat	6½		Reetish Padhi	1837	U15
6		Gavi Siddayya	1984		7½	Beat	6½	IM	Hegde Ravi Gopal	2191	S55
7		Kulkarni Vinayak	2033		7½	Beat	6½		Sagar Praveen	0	
8		Yashas D.	2136		7	Beat	6½		Aman Chandra	1834	
9		Utkal Santra	1702		6	Lost to	7		Sa Kannan	2032	
10		Muthaiah Al	2004		7	Beat	6		Gaurav Sachdeva	1700	